Salinas High mountain bikers

 The perennial powers of Northern California are headed back to the state championships after capturing the Northern California League South Conference mountain bike team title.
  The Cowboys, who went undefeated all season in a series of competitions, outdistanced runner-ups Albany and El Cerrito.
Gabriel Gonzales brought home individual honors for the Cowboys, capturing the sophomore boys race with teammate Mason Toby placing fourth.
Earning a podium finish included Noah Lindenthal, who was third in the varsity boys race, just ahead of teammate Rylan Loader, who placed fifth overall.
Bronze medals went to Sarah Flynn, Tyler Duffus and Alison O’Dell. Miranda Urquides and Sabeli Saldana both finished fourth in their divisions.
Lindenthal was awarded the sportsmanship award while Kati Scheid received the courage award. In addition, head coach Jeff Lindenthal was named the conferences Coach of the Year.

No comments: